Officers and Committee Chairs

Officers/Executive Board

PTA Operations

School Affairs

Fundraising

Events

 

Officers/Executive Board

Participate in monthly meeting to transact business, create special and standing committees, approve committee plans, present reports and annual budget to the general membership and approves bills within the limits of the adopted budget.

 

Position Duties Name E-mail

President

Presides at all meetings of the local PTA and executive board. Coordinates work of officers and committees.  Other duties as assigned by officers and committees

Emily Kenton

president@fvespta.org

Vice President

Acts as aide to the president; performs duties of president in absence or inability; other duties include managing PTA operations work plans in coordination with chairs.

Renee Stake

vicepresident@fvespta.org

Treasurer

Has custody of all funds of the local PTA; keeps full and accurate account of receipts and expenditures; makes disbursements as authorized, and much more…

Jeff Wong

treasurer@fvespta.org

Recording and Corresponding Secretary

Records the minutes of the meetings and other duties as assigned.

Shira Lantner

secretary@fvespta.org

Ways & Means Coordinator

Manages fundraiser work plans in coordination with chairs. Reviews fundraising plan and programs.

Beth Davis

waysmeans@fvespta.org

School Affairs Coordinator

Manages school affairs work plans in coordination with chairs.

Bridget Cooke

schoolaffairs@fvespta.org

Programs Coordinator

Manages program work plans in coordination with chairs.

Cristina de la Torre (Benavides)

programs@fvespta.org

MCCPTA Delegate (2 positions)

Represents and votes on county policy on behalf of PTA at MCCPTA meetings. The meetings are held the third Tuesday of every month. 

David Chung

dlchung@KPMG.com

Rockville Cluster NAACP Parent Council Representative

Represents the PTA in the work of the Rockville Cluster NAACP Parent Council.

Ceira Sterling 

Ceirasterling@gmail.com

Rockville Cluster Hispanic Parent Council Representative

Represents the PTA in the work of the Rockville Cluster Hispanic Parent Council.

Angela Franco

afranco@gwhcc.org

Special Needs Chairperson

Represents special needs community at FVES.

Winona Lennon

twlennon@verizon.net

GT Liaison

Serves as liaison for families with gifted students.

Ade Hutapea

addeta@gmail.com

Parent Representative to School Improvement Team

Represents parents on school matters.

Marci Fulmore

David Booth

mefulmore@aol.com

booth1497@hotmail.com 

Principal

Represents school.

Gay Melnick

gay_e_melnick@mcpsmd.org

Teacher/Staff Liaison

Represents teachers and staff and serves as the primary representative for the teacher community to the PTA

 

Kelly Henderson 

 

Kelly_E_Henderson@mcpsmd.org 

Membership

Manages PTA membership drive and collects forms and dues.

Laura Gardner

membership@fvespta.org

 

D-HoH parent rep

 

Represents parents of Deaf and HoH students

 

Mike Holczer

 

fves@holczer.com

Top

 

PTA Operations (Coordinators report to the First VP)

Position Duties Name E-mail

Newsletter

Edits and coordinates information for newsletter. 

Laura Davis

ortegadavis@gmail.com

Directory

Coordinates development of annual PTA directory including printing.

Tiffanie Sisman

sismanalt@gmail.com

Classroom Communication Coordinator

Serves as top of communication chain to room parents and teachers for the school and PTA.

David Chung

president@fvespta.org

Membership Toolkit

(PTA Web Portal)

Administrator

Manages the PTA portal for members – includes the PTA website.

Anna-Lisa Walters

annalisaf@hotmail.com

Staff Appreciation Week

and Monthly Birthdays

Organizes Teacher Appreciation Week events and monthly teacher/staff birthday celebrations

Kelli Potter

kpotter@jglandscape.com

Parent Volunteer Coordinator

Reports on volunteer hours each month.

Ruth Borda

pvcoordinator@fvespta.org (send volunteer hours to this email address)

New Family Welcome Committee

Contacts families new to FVES and makes sure the feel connected

Ruth Borda

rburke1963@aol.com

Listserv Owner

Owns our listserv

Anna-Lisa Walters
David Chung
Emily Kenton

annalisaf@hotmail.com
president@fvespta.org
vicepresident@fvespta.org

Top

 

School Affairs (Chairpersons report to the School Affairs Coordinator)

Position Duties Name E-mail

Art Displays

Works with art teacher to put up displays.

Anchal Khanna
Ashutosh Rao

anchal_k@hotmail.com
ashutosh_rao@yahoo.com

Outdoor Message Board

Puts letters on outdoor sign to announce school activities.

 Carson Herrick

 

carsonherrick@live.com

Indoor PTA Bulletin

Board

Puts announcements / updates on bulletin board in front hallway.

Hillary Feldman

hillykat@aol.com

Cultural Arts

Coordinates assemblies for school

Janet Lyhus

Janet_lyhus@yahoo.com

Spirit Wear

Promotes sale of Spirit Wear

Bridget Cook

bibby468@gmail.com

Garden Club

Organizes flowers and mulch for school.

 Patrick Brown

 

patrickhbrown@gmail.com

FVES Yearbook

Coordinates FVES yearbook with staff.

Selena Robleto

 selena@selenarobleto.com

Grandparent's and Special Friends Day

Organizes school Grandparents day with school staff.

Margaret Stubner

margaret36370@yahoo.com

50th Anniversary - Jubilee Event Lead

Will lead efforts to plan and execute a special event to celebrate the 50th anniversary of FVES in the Spring of 2017 – Carnival, Spring Silent Auction and Teacher Baskets will all be sub-committees under the Jubilee Event Leader.

VACANT

 

Top

 

Fundraising (Chairpersons report to the Ways and Means Coordinator)

Position Duties Name E-mail

Fall Book Fair (Scholastic)

Serves as liaison with Scholastic, organizes volunteers and sales.

Margaret Stubner

margaret36370@yahoo.com

Spring Book Fair

Serves as liaison with Scholastic.

Margaret Stubner

margaret36370@yahoo.com

Box Tops for Education and Campbell’s Soup Label

Collects and organizes contests.

Ade Hutapea

 addeta@gmail.com

Giant/Safeway /Target

Collects and organizes contests.

Ade Hutapea

 

 addeta@gmail.com

Family Fun Night / Restaurant Night

Organizes dinner out.

Pam Potur

pamelaap@hotmail.com

Original Artworks

Serves as liaison with company, distributes forms and organizes sales.

Laura Davis

ortegadavis@gmail.com

Fall Fundraiser

Organizes fundraising event to take place in the Fall semester.

Nita Wong

nitatapp@gmail.com

Silent Auction (50th Anniversary Sub Committee)

Organizes silent auction committee.

Becky Uhl

Jeanne Mendelson

beckyuhl@verizon.net

JMendelson@smithbucklin.com

Class Basket raffle (50th Anniversary Sub Committee)

Organizes the baskets and raffle at the carnival.

Anna Forester
Melissa St. Louise

aforster1004@yahoo.com

melmcd23@aol.com

Top

 

Events (Chairpersons report to the Programs Coordinator)

Position Duties Name E-mail

Back-to-School Picnic

Organizes Back-to-School Picnic.

Wendy Eckenrode

Wendy_s_eckenrode@mcpsmd.org

Bingo

Organizes Bingo Night.

Dawn Willard

Kathleen Creel 

dawnwillardslp@gmail.com

School Dance

Organizes school party, formally known as ‘dance’.

Anna-Lisa Walters

annalisaf@hotmail.com

Fifth Grade Promotion

Organizes 5th grade promotion.

Sandy Young

sandyjelen@hotmail.com

International Night

Organizes International Night.

Nilgun Akselioglu

nilgun21@verizon.net

Movie Night

Organizes a movie night.

Ade Hutapea

addeta@gmail.com

Parent v. Teacher Basketball Game

Organizes basketball game.

Steve Gensemer 

 

Science Fair

Organizes science fair, recruits judges.

VACANT

 

Fun Run

Organizes 1 mile fun run

Sandy Young

sandyjelen@hotmail.com

Family Reading Night

Organizes Fall family reading night.

Shira Lantner

shirayona@gmail.com

Top

Flower Valley Parent's E-List

The Parent's E-List is the fastest way to get school announcements and find out what's going on. Join today!

Upcoming Events

View/Print the 2017-2018 Calendar (Coming Soon!)

No Upcoming Events

 

  

FVES Information

Principal: Gay E. Melnick
Assistant Principal: Duane L. Ross
School Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 3:25 p.m.
Early Release Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 12:55 p.m. 
Address: 4615 Sunflower Drive, Rockville, MD 20853
New Phone: 240-740-1780
New Fax: 240-740-1789

PTA Information

Stay Connected - Setup Your Account

FVES Buddy Bench

2016 FVES PTA Member Survey Results

Read the Latest PTA Newsletter

FVES PTA Meeting Minutes

Facebook "Like" the Flower Valley PTA on Facebook

Support the PTA with AmazonSmile

Sponsors

Kids After Hours

Rockin' Jump

Snap Entertainment